Institute of Geography and Geoecology (IFGG)

Institute of Geography and Geoecology (IFGG)

 

We investigate and teach the interactions between society, soils, water, vegetation and climate. Without an understanding of this interplay, a sustainable approach to our environment is impossible.

 

Notices

Virus Update
Covid-19 Update

Teaching takes place online for at least the rest of the year but probably for the entire lecture period in WS 2020/21. Information on the individual courses can still be found on Ilias. Make sure that e-mails from the Ilias system can reach you.

Exploratorien
New tool to recognize ecosystem change

In a new publication in the renowned journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA (PNAS), the consortium of the German Biodiversity Exploratories with the participation of Sophia Leimer and Wolfgang Wilcke of the IFGG show that increasing land-use intensity in grassland and forest changes the relationship between biodiversity, ecosystem functioning and the resulting ecosystem services, which are important for humans. With the proposed method which is based on network theory, a novel tool becomes available with which the entire complexity of the anthropogenically caused ecosystem changes can be recognized.

More
Alfred Wirthmann
Obituary - Alfred Wirthmann

Alfred Wirthmann; who has died at the age of 92, was a central figure of this institute. From 1968 to 1996 he was Professor of Geography in Karlsruhe. The study course Geoecology in Karlsruhe was introduced on his initiative in 1986.

Obituary (in German)
Webrelaunch
Webrelaunch

The website was adapted to the new KIT design. Not everything works as usual yet but we are working on it.

Erwin Project
New project

The project called ErWiN contributes to a better understanding of the dynamics of forest fires and to reducing the risk of forest fires. The Principal Investigator is Dr. Fabian Faßnacht.

More
Reflectance follows function
Why plant reflectance follows function

An article in Nature Scientific Reports with Dr. Teja Kattenborn as first author explains why the reflectance of plants follows function.

More

Institut für Geographie und Geoökologie (IFGG)

Institut für Geographie und Geoökologie (IFGG)

 

Wir erforschen und vermitteln die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Gesellschaft, Böden, Wasser, Vegetation und Klima. Ohne Verständnis dieses Wechselspiels ist ein nachhaltiger Umgang mit unserer Umwelt unmöglich.

 

Nachrichten 

Exploratorien
Neues Werkzeug zur Erfassung von Ökosystem-Veränderungen

In einer neuen Veröffentlichung in der renommierten Zeitschrift Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA (PNAS), hat das Konsortium der Biodiversitäts-Exploratorien unter Beteiligung von Sophia Leimer und Wolfgang Wilcke vom IFGG gezeigt, dass ansteigende Landnutzungsintensität in Grünland und Wald die Beziehungen zwischen Biodiversität, Ökosystemfunktionen und den daraus entstehenden, für die Menschen wichtigen, Ökosystemleistungen verändert. Mit der auf der Netzwerk-Theorie basierenden Methode steht ein neues Werkzeug zur Verfügung, mit dem die ganze Komplexität der anthropogen verursachten Ökosystem-Veränderungen erkannt werden kann.

Mehr
O-Phase.jpg
Orientierungsphase für das erste Semester

Das Institut für Geographie und Geoökologie heißt die Studierenden im ersten Semester herzlich willkommen! In der Woche vom 26. bis 30. Oktober finden für die Studiengänge Geoökologie und Lehramt Geographie einführende Informationsveranstaltungen statt.

Postdoctoral Researcher, Remote Sensing in Vegetation Ecology
Job opportunity: postdoc on Remote Sensing in Vegetation Ecology

The KIT Institute of Geography and Geoecology invites applications for the position of a Postdoctoral Researcher, Remote Sensing in Vegetation Ecology, 3 + 3 years.

More information
Alfred Wirthmann
Nachruf - Alfred Wirthmann

Alfred Wirthmann, der im Alter von 92 Jahren verstorben ist, war eine zentrale Figur dieses Instituts. Von 1968 bis 1996 war er hier Professor für Geographie. Auf seine Initiative hin wurde 1986 der Studiengang Geoökologie in Karlsruhe eingeführt.

Nachruf
Virus Update
Covid-19 Update

Der Vorlesungsbeginn des kommenden Wintersemesters 2020/21 verschiebt sich auf den 02.11.2020. Es wird bis auf Weiteres davon ausgegangen, dass auch im Wintersemster 2020/21 sehr viele Lehrveranstaltungen hauptsächlich oder vollständig online angeboten werden.

Relaunch der IFGG-Website
Responsive Design

Die Website wurde an das neue KIT-Design angepasst. Noch nicht alles funktioniert wie gewohnt aber wir sind dran.

Erwin Project
Neues Projekt

Das Projekt namens ErWiN trägt dazu bei, die Dynamik von Waldbränden besser zu verstehen und das Risiko für Waldbrände zu senken. Principal Investigator ist Dr. Fabian Faßnacht.

Mehr
Reflectance follows function
Reflexion folgt Funktion

Ein Artikel in Nature Scientific Reports mit Dr. Teja Kattenborn als Erstautor erklärt, warum die Reflexion von Pflanzen der Funktion folgt.

Mehr